discovery of leprosy in armadillos
My first full paper was the discovery of leprosy in wild armadillos in 1974. The three of us were checking an animal that we assumed was pregnant and found that which we were told that could not be–a wild armadillo with leprosy. The rest of the story is long and a bit twisted. George D’Addamio (the reproductive physiologist) (left), Evan St. Julian (lab assistant) (right) and I (on one knee) are shown here drawing blood from an armadillo. I was the colony supervisor and general biologist in the armadillo-leprosy program at GSRI in New Iberia, LA. We were a team (with Karen Kurtzweig, lab assistant, and Mark S. DeRouen, assistant animal colony supervisor) that worked on armadillos and leprosy in Louisiana. More than a dozen other people were part of this project.

 

Here is a copy of my resume! Fifty years of work on a great variety of endeavors are evidenced here. A heck of a lot of people helped me at every juncture of my career.

Malcolm Vidrine

Resume 2019